International Baccalaureate (IB) Program

What is the IB Diploma Program

The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program is a challenging two-year curriculum, primarily aimed at students aged 16 to 19. It leads to a qualification that is widely recognized by the world's leading universities. Students learn more than a collection of facts. The Diploma Program prepares students for university and encourages them to:

  • Ask challenging questions 
  • Learn how to learn 
  • Develop a strong sense of their own identity and culture 
  • Develop the ability to communicate with and understand people from other countries and cultures

The curriculum features six academic areas surrounding the three core requirements. The three core requirements are:

  • Extended essay 
  • Theory of knowledge 
  • Creativity, action, service

All three parts of the core - extended essay, theory of knowledge and creativity, action, service - are compulsory and are central to the philosophy of the Diploma Program.
In addition, students study six subjects selected from the subject groups which include native language, second language, experimental sciences, the arts, mathematics and computer science, individuals and society. Normally three subjects are studied at higher level (courses representing 240 teaching hours), and the remaining three subjects are studied at standard level (courses representing 150 teaching hours).
Over the course of the two-year program, students:

  • Study six subjects chosen from the six subject groups 
  • Complete an extended essay 
  • Follow a theory of knowledge course (TOK) 
  • Participate in extra curricular activities comprising creativity, action, service (CAS)